Eight Limbs of Yoga: BlueRoof Style

In the coming weeks we’re going to be learning the Eight Limbs of Yoga at the BlueRoof. We’ll break down each Limb and each branch to better understand the whole of what Yoga truly is. Not only will this create a deeper understanding of Yoga but also – of yourself.

Each teaching will offer you something if you’re willing to look. I encourage you to allow your emotions and accept willingly, with open arms, anything life brings you in your journey through the Limbs.

Each week you’ll receive an affirmation as well as journal questions to help you dig deeper into the teachings and learn more and more about yourself.

What are the Eight Limbs of Yoga?

The Eight Limbs of Yoga come from Patanjali’s Yoga Sutras. They are steps, lessons, on how to live a more connected, compassionate, aware life. They are the whole of what Yoga is. Yoga is so much more than a series of postures. Yoga is a lifestyle, a choice, a way to be in life.

We’ll look at each Limb individually as we move ahead, and break down each Limb that has branches to get an in depth look at how to truly be a Yogi.

  • Yama :  Ethics, Integrity, How you practice yoga off the mat
  • Niyama :  Outer Awareness
  • Asanas :  The Postures
  • Pranayama :  Breathe Control
  • Pratyahara :  Sense Control
  • Dharana :  Inner Awareness
  • Dhyana :  Meditation
  • Samadhi :  Connection

Namaste` my friends. I’m grateful to be on this journey with you.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s