Eight Limbs of Yoga: Yamas

The Yamas: Ethics, Integrity, How we are with others, the world/environment/ourselves. How we practice yoga off the mat. They are steps in creating a more authentic, aware, connected and compassionate life by creating more authenticity, awareness, connection, and compassion within yourself.

The Yamas are not to be used to judge oneself – instead use them to bring awareness to how you are being and bring consciousness to your actions.

The Five Yamas we’ll be looking at going forward:

Ahimsa – Non-harm / Non-Violence

Satya – Truthfulness

Asteya – Non-Stealing

Brahmacharya – Continence

Aparigraha – Non-Coveting

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s